Department | Science | Zoology

About Department of Zoology

Department of Zoology was established in 1948 and T.Y.B.Sc. was started in 1971. Department has started M. Sc. Zoology in 2005 with Genetics as a special subject. Department is nurtured by qualified staff with various specialisations like applied biochemistry and molecular biology, protozoa taxonomy, hydrobiology, insect molecular biology and Apiculture. It is enriched with huge collection of museum specimen including some rare fauna. It has spacious and well equipped laboratories with supportive instruments and equipment for biological studies. It has facility for Drosophila culture and maintenance of mutants. Department is continuingly contributing in research as well as in academics through publications of Research papers and books. Department has also been involved in development of zoological teaching aids like posters charts, e-contents and blogs.

Throughout the year department is engaged in various activities like Photography competition, Quiz, Posters and Presentation. Scientists and Entrepreneurs are invited as Resource person where they interact with students on various related aspects.  Department encourage students to participate and present research articles in various conferences and trainings. Our guidance has helped students to qualify competitive exams like NET/SET and further employment. From last 9 years, Zoology Day celebration (RATUFA) has been done to inculcate soft skills in students where they organise and participate in various zoology related activities. Various field visits, nature camps, visits to wildlife sanctuaries and research laboratories are organised for the students to have holistic view.

Department has been involved in various extension activities to provide guidance to farmers and youth about Apiculture, Freshwater pearl culture, Bird conservation, vermicomposting and Pest control management.


Degree Eligibility Course Type Intake Note Admission Procedure Type
B.Sc(Zoology) An applicant who has passed the H.S.C(12th Science) Examination of the Maharashtra State Board or equivalent of any other statutory Board or University with English and 3 science subjects out of 1)Chemistry 2)Biology 3)Physics 4)Mathematics is eligible for F.Y.B.Sc. Grant 24 Seats ( TYBSc) Reservation as per Government Rules Selection through merit list Under Graduate
M.Sc. (Zoology) B.Sc. Zoology Non-Grant 24 Seats Reservation as per Government Rules On merit basis (Marks obtained at degree level) Post Graduate

Faculty List

Faculty Qualification Designation Experience(Yrs) Email Profile
Dr. Jawale Chetan S. M.Sc. Ph.D. HOD, Associate Professor 19 View
Dr. Supriya Singh Gupta M.Sc. NET, M.Phil, Ph.D Assistant Professor 11 View
Dr. Aditi Sunil Shere – Kharwar M.Sc. Ph.D. NET Assistant professor 08 View
Dr. Nazneen Z. Deshmukh M.Sc. Ph.D. FIBRF, FICEE Assistant Professor 07 View
Dr. Bharati G. Kolhe M.Sc. Ph.D Assistant professor 11 View
Ms. Prajakta Deshpande M.Sc. SET Assistant professor 15 View
Mrs. Sukhada Kulkarni M.Sc. Assistant professor 10 View
Ms. Revati Belgaonkar M.Sc. MBA Assistant professor 04 VIew