Department | Science | Computer Science

About Department of Computer Science

The Department of Computer Science was established in 1986 with the commencement of B.C.S. course. Later M.C.S. was started in 1991 and since then so many batches of students have passed out and are wide spread across the globe. Looking at the need of the students and demand from the industry we started M.C.A.(under Science faculty) a three year integrated course for all science graduates from the academic year 2005-06 till 2016-17.  A UGC sponsored career oriented course on Android development is being conducted in the department from 2014-15.

Since 2002-03 year as per U.G.C. guidelines B.C.S. and M.C.S. have been rechristened by the University of Pune as B.Sc. (Computer Science) and M.Sc. (Computer Science).

The Department has a separate, independent infrastructure with around 227 student strength and 16 teaching and 4 non-teaching staff members.

The Department has well equipped Electronics, Statistics and Mathematics Labs alongwith Computer facility and four Computer Science Labs. Apart from conventional chalk and board teaching, we use LCD projectors for online teaching. We encourage our students also to use LCD for their seminars and presentations.

The Department looks after placements of students by organizing Pre-placement activity for grooming the students for placements, by arranging Campus Drives by many Software Development Companies.

Genesis, the yearly activity of the department has become an identity of the department which comprises of seminars on technical and general topics by industrial experts and famous academicians and different technical & non-technical competitions.

The department time-to-time organizes industrial & educational tours, Parent-Teacher meets & Alumni meets.


Degree Eligibility Course Type Intake Note Admission Procedure Type
B.Sc(Computer Science) An applicant who has passed the H.S.C(12th Science) Examination of the Maharashtra State Board or equivalent of any other statutory Board or University with English and 3 science subjects out of 1)Chemistry 2)Biology 3)Physics 4)Mathematics is eligible for F.Y.B.Sc. Non-Grant 80 Seats Reservation as per Government Rules Selection through merit list Under Graduate
M.Sc. (Computer Science) B.Sc. Computer Science Non-Grant 30 Seats Reservation as per Government Rules On merit basis (Marks obtained at degree level) Post Graduate

Faculty List

Faculty Qualification Designation Experience(Yrs) Email Profile
Mrs. A.M.Shaikh M.C.S., SET Head of Computer Science Department 19 View
Shirish Bhalchandra Karkare M.Sc (Statistics) Lecturer 31 View
P.S Sane physics(Elec) lecturer in Electrocics 27 View
Tilak Ratnavali Narayan M.Sc. (Mathematics), ADCSSA Lecturer 23 View
Mrs. Ahire Anuradha Chadrakant M.C.S., M.Phil. (Computer Science), UGC-NET Full-Time Lecturer in Computer Science 23 View
Mrs.Leena Hemraj Kinage M.Sc (Comp.Sci.),SET Full time Lecturer in Computer Science Department 20 View
KAKASAHEB RANGNATH NIKAM M.Sc. Computer Science, NET, SET Lecturer 15 View
Mrs. Shraddha C. Kulkarni M.Sc.[CS],M.Phil[CS] Lecturer 13 View
Mrs. M. N. Mahajan M.C.S. , M.Phil(C.S) Lecturer 15 View
Varsha Kiran Joshi M.C.S. Lecturer in Computer Science 16 View
Dhande Dipita Shailesh M.C.S., M.Phil. (Comp. Sc.), S.E.T. qualified Lecturer 20 View
Chavan Rupali Subhash M.Sc(comp.sci),NET Lecturer 11 View
MHASKE VINAYAK VASANT M.Sc. (Maths.) Lecturer 07 View
Swapna Pramod Karkhanis MSc Computer science, MCTS (microsoft certification for technology specialist in 2009) Lecturer 10.5 View
Gayatri Arun Kawale M.Sc. Computer Science Lecturer 10 View